Vajpayee's Demise: 16 States declares Holiday

     Written by : SMTV24x7 | Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 12:37 PM

Vajpayees Demise: 16 States declares Holiday

New Delhi, Aug 17: Following the death of Former Prime Minister of India, Atal Bihar Vajpayee, a statewide holiday has been declared in Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, UP, MP, Bihar, Assam, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu.

Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee breathed his last on Thursday at 5:05 pm, August 16, 2018. After the news of the death of Shri Atal, Bihar Vajpayee leaders from across the states of India have declared state holidays.

Central Government has also declared a state mourning period of 7 days from Thursday till August 22. Central Offices across India would remain closed on Friday for half day.

Delhi Government along with many states have announced a holiday on Friday, August 17 for all schools and colleges as well as government offices. Schools, Colleges, and Government Offices would remain closed in 16 states across India.

The complete list of states that have confirmed holidays is also provided below. Any update on the same would be provided here. Please remember, a half-day holiday for all Central Government Offices and CPSUs across India has also been declared by Government of India.