Verdict on Krishna water allocations

     Written by : IANS | Wed, Oct 19, 2016, 03:18 AM

Verdict on Krishna water allocations

Vijayawada, October 19: Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Maharashtra states are eagerly waiting for the Brijesh Kumar Tribunal judgment on the reallocation of Krishna water between these four states, to be announced today.

During Krishna water allocations, 811 TMCs Krishna water was allotted to the united Andhra Pradesh State. After separate Telangana State was formed in 2014, the TS government requested the Tribunal for water allotment to the state also. Both the Telugu states are hoping to get more water if the water is allocated between four states.

But Maharashtra and Karnataka states were against this proposal and demanding water allocation between three states only. They are arguing that both the Telugu states should equally distribute the 811 TMCs of water earlier allotted to them.

About 40 years ago, the Bachawat Tribunal has allotted 811 TMCs to united Andhra Pradesh, 585 TMSc to Maharashtra and 734 TMCs to Karnataka of the total available 2460 TMCs. This agreement continued till 2000. Later followed by an appeal by all states, Brijesh Kumar Tribunal was formed which studied the water allocations.

The Tribunal allotted 1001 TMCs to AP, 666 TMCs to Maharashtra and 991 TMCs to Karnataka of the total available 2578 TMCs. The Tribunal announced this allotment will continue till 2050. The then AP Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy cried injustice and the Centre stalled the Tribunal verdict. As a result the Bachawat Tribunal allotments are continuing till date.

Now the Telangana State also demanded its share in Krishna waters and the final verdict will come today.